

RECORD OF DEFERRAL

SOUTHERN REGIONAL PLANNING PANEL

DATE OF DEFERRAL	Thursday 6 August 2020
PANEL MEMBERS	Gordon Kirkby (Chair), Renata Brooks, Tim Fletcher and Dan Hayes
APOLOGIES	Dallas Tout and Tim Koschel
DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	None

Public meeting held Public Teleconference on 30 July 2020, opened at 10:40am and closed at 12:45pm.

MATTER DETERMINED

PPSSTH-32 – Wagga Wagga City Council – DA20/0016 at 157 Windmill Road, Bomen – Electricity Generating Works (solar farm) (as described in Schedule 1)

REASONS FOR DEFERRAL

The panel agreed to defer the determination of the matter until required information and assessment is provided by the applicant.

The Panel requires submission of an independent assessment of the visual impact and potential glare impact of the proposed development. The independent assessment shall be prepared by a suitably qualified expert, whose appointment shall be endorsed by Council.

The independent assessment shall address:

- The veracity of the existing information provided by the Applicant regarding visual impact and the potential for the development to create glare impacts on the surrounding community, including commenting on the underlying assumptions.
- Verify that the development footprint is appropriate to prevent adverse visual or glare impacts or recommend modifications to the development footprint
- Advise on appropriate rectification actions to mitigate potential glare generation during operations including materials, tracking operations
- Recommend parameters to monitor the performance of the development with regard to glare impacts

Following receipt of the independent assessment, Council shall prepare a supplementary report for the Panel on the additional information.

When this information has been received, the panel will determine the matter electronically.

The decision to defer the matter was unanimous. The Panel adjourned at the conclusion of the meeting to deliberate on the matter and formulate a resolution.

PANEL MEMBERS		
Godon Killy	RB Q	
Gordon Kirkby (Chair)	Renata Brooks	
the tete	Mayes	
Tim Fletcher	Dan Hayes	

	SCHEDULE 1			
1	PANEL REF – LGA – DA NO.	PPSSTH-32 – Wagga Wagga City Council – DA20/0016		
2	PROPOSED DEVELOPMENT	Electricity Generating Works (solar farm)		
3	STREET ADDRESS	157 Windmill Road, Bomen		
4	APPLICANT/OWNER	Applicant: David Walker Owner: Andrew Geoffrey		
5	TYPE OF REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT	Private infrastructure and community facilities over \$5 million		
6	RELEVANT MANDATORY CONSIDERATIONS	 Environmental planning instruments: Wagga Wagga Local Environmental Plan 2010 S91 Water Management Act – integrated approval S90 National Parks and Wildlife Act 1974 – integrated approval Draft environmental planning instruments: Nil Development control plans: Wagga Wagga Development Control Plan 2010 Planning agreements: Nil Provisions of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Regulation 2000: Nil Coastal zone management plan: Nil The likely impacts of the development, including environmental impacts on the natural and built environment and social and economic impacts in the locality The suitability of the site for the development Any submissions made in accordance with the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 or regulations The public interest, including the principles of ecologically sustainable development 		
7	MATERIAL CONSIDERED BY THE PANEL	 Council assessment report: 14 July 2020 Written submissions during public exhibition: 22 		
		 Verbal submissions at the public meeting: Graeme Obst, Robert Englert, Peter Fawcett, Graham White, Ron Kerr, Lynette LeBlack, Michelle Fromholtz, Marie Suthern, Catherine O'Kane, Nicole Lennon, Bill Schultz and Wendy Anderson Council assessment officer – Amanda Gray and Paul O'Brien 		

		 On behalf of the applicant – David Walker, Ian Warren Woo and Suzie Rawlinson
8	MEETINGS, BRIEFINGS AND SITE INSPECTIONS BY THE PANEL	 Site inspection: 21 July 2020 Panel members: Gordon Kirkby (Chair), Tim Fletcher and Renata Brooks Council assessment staff: Amanda Gray Final briefing to discuss council's recommendation, Thursday, 30 July 2020, 9:30am. Attendees: Panel members: Gordon Kirkby (Chair), Tim Fletcher, Renata Brooks, Tim Koschel and Dan Hayes Council assessment staff: Amanda Gray, Paul O'Brien Peter Thomas and Cameron Collins
9	COUNCIL RECOMMENDATION	Approval
10	DRAFT CONDITIONS	Attached to the council assessment report